THE TOWER, THE ZOO, AND THE TORTOISE

THE TOWER, THE ZOO, AND THE TORTOISE

JULIA STUART

3,00 €
IVA incluido
Editorial:
DOUBLEDAY
Año de edición:
2010
Materia
Inglés
ISBN:
978-0-385-53328-7
Páginas:
304

u003cbu003eBrimming with charm and whimsy, this exquisite novel set in the Tower of London has the transportive qualities and delightful magic of the contemporary classics u003ciu003eChocolat u003c/iu003eand u003ciu003eAmélieu003c/iu003e. u003c/bu003eu003cbru003eu003cbru003eBalthazar Jones has lived in the Tower of London with his loving wife, Hebe, and his 120-year-old pet tortoise for the past eight years. That's right, he is a Beefeater (they really do live there). It's no easy job living and working in the tourist attraction in present-day London. u003cbru003eu003cbru003e Among the eccentric characters who call the Tower's maze of ancient buildings and spiral staircases home are the Tower's Rack & Ruin barmaid, Ruby Dore, who just found out she's pregnant; portly Valerie Jennings, who is falling for ticket inspector Arthur Catnip; the lifelong bachelor Reverend Septimus Drew, who secretly pens a series of principled erotu00adica; and the philandering Ravenmaster, aiming to avenge the death of one of his insufferable ravens. u003cbru003eu003cbru003e When Balthazar is tasked with setting up an elaborate menagerie within the Tower walls to house the many exotic animals gifted to the Queen, life at the Tower gets all the more interestu00ading. Penguins escape, giraffes are stolen, and the Komodo dragon sends innocent people running for their lives. Balthazar is in charge and things are not exactly running smoothly. Then Hebe decides to leave him and his beloved tortoise “runs” away. u003cbru003eu003cbru003e Filled with the humor and heart that calls to mind the delightu00adful novels of Alexander McCall Smith, and the charm and beauty of u003ciu003eThe Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Societyu003c/iu003e, u003ciu003eThe Tower, the Zoo, and the Tortoise u003c/iu003eis a magical, wholly origiu00adnal novel whose irresistible characters will stay with you long after you turn the stunning last page.

Artículos relacionados

  • BORROWED TIME
    2ª mano
    BORROWED TIME
    JAMES FREEMAN / VERN MCKINLEY
    u003cpu003eThe alarming, untold story of Citigroup—one of the largest financial institutions in the world—from its founding in 1812 to its role in the 2008 financial crisis, and the many near-death experiences in between.u003c/pu003eu003cpu003eDuring the 2008 financial crisis, we were told that Citi was a victim of events beyond its control—the larger financial panic, unf...

    3,00 €

  • PROMISING YOUNG WOMEN
    2ª mano
    PROMISING YOUNG WOMEN
    CAROLINE O'DONOGHUE
    u003cpu003eu003cbu003e'I loved it. The writing is whipsmart and so witty. A fabulous and timely novel.' Marian Keyesu003c/bu003eu003c/pu003e u003cpu003eu003cbu003e'So brilliant ... Compelling and illuminating ... I highly recommend it.' Dolly Aldertonu003c/bu003eu003c/pu003e u003cpu003eu003cbu003e'A future classic.' Jane Caseyu003c/bu003eu003c/pu003e u003cpu003eJane Peters is a...

    3,00 €

  • THE DUCHESS DEAL
    2ª mano
    THE DUCHESS DEAL
    TESSA DARE
    u003cpu003eAn iBooks Best Romance of August Pick!u003c/pu003eu003cpu003eOne of Publishers Weekly's Buzz Books of Romance 2017!u003c/pu003eu003cpu003eAn Amazon Best Romance of August Pick! u003c/pu003eu003cpu003e2017 RT Reviewer's Choice Book of the Year Nominee and 2017 RT Reviewer's Choice Nominee for Best Historical Love & Laughter! u003c/pu003eu003cpu003e u003c/pu003eu003cp...

    3,00 €

  • THE ESSENTIAL HANDBOOK TO LECTIN
    2ª mano
    THE ESSENTIAL HANDBOOK TO LECTIN
    EVELYN CARMICHAEL
    Is Gluten-Free the answer? Find out how Lectins impact inflammation, autoimmune and digestive issues, and cause you to gain weight. u003cbru003e Many people eat a gluten-free diet, but they may not be aware that the real culprit that's responsible for their ill health is in fact a protein known as 'Lectin'. This little-known intolerance can cause a wide range of nasty symptoms,...

    3,00 €

  • DIFFERENT CLASS
    2ª mano
    DIFFERENT CLASS
    JOANNE HARRIS
    u003cbu003eu003ciu003eThe gripping new psychological thriller from Joanne Harris, to follow her bestsellingu003c/iu003e Gentlemen & Players u003ciu003eandu003c/iu003e Blueeyedboy.u003ciu003ePerfect for fans of Claire Mackintosh, BA Paris, Paula Hawkinsu003c/iu003e and u003ciu003eTracy Chevalier.u003c/iu003eu003c/bu003eu003cbru003e u003cbru003e 'Crime novel or literary novel? Ca...

    3,00 €

  • FORTY THIEVES
    2ª mano
    FORTY THIEVES
    THOMAS PERRY
    Fromu003ciu003eNew York Timesu003c/iu003e bestselling author Thomas Perry comes a whip-smart and lethally paced standalone novel,u003ciu003eForty Thievesu003c/iu003e.u003cbru003e u003cbru003e Sid and Ronnie Abel are a husband-and-wife detective team, both ex-LAPD. Ed and Nicole Hoyt are assassins-for-hire living in the San Fernando Valley. Except for deadly aim with a handgun, ...

    3,00 €