THE FOREST

THE FOREST

EDWARD RUTHERFURD

3,00 €
IVA incluido
Editorial:
VINTAGE BOOKS
Año de edición:
2001
Materia
Inglés
ISBN:
978-0-09-927907-5
Páginas:
882

Few places in England are more resonant, more mysterious yet more friendly than the huge forest that lies by England's southern coast, that provided hunting for England's Saxon and Noman kings, and whose ancient oaks were used to build Nelson's navy. Today, the area is one of the most visited beauty spots in Britain, but the forest has always been busy. In medieval days, the religious houses of Christchurch and Beaulieu were important places; after the Reformation numerous gentry built houses and parks in the forest; the shipbuilding industry turned Lymington into a popular home for naval officers and an eighteenth century spa to rival Bath (Jane Austen lived only twenty-five miles north of the forest). But the character of the forest has always remained ancient and mysterious. Deer, even wild pigs, still roam there as they have since time immemorial. Its place names are Saxon and evocative - Brockenhurst, Hatchet Moor, Godwinescroft. Witchcraft is still, without the slightest question, prevalent within the forest. And the oaks, the great oaks of England, are everywhere to be seen. Forest and sea- there is no more perfect English heartland.

Artículos relacionados

  • BORROWED TIME
    2ª mano
    BORROWED TIME
    JAMES FREEMAN / VERN MCKINLEY
    u003cpu003eThe alarming, untold story of Citigroup—one of the largest financial institutions in the world—from its founding in 1812 to its role in the 2008 financial crisis, and the many near-death experiences in between.u003c/pu003eu003cpu003eDuring the 2008 financial crisis, we were told that Citi was a victim of events beyond its control—the larger financial panic, unf...

    3,00 €

  • NO MIDDLE NAME
    2ª mano
    NO MIDDLE NAME
    LEE CHILD
    u003cbu003eu003ciu003eNEW YORK TIMESu003c/iu003e BESTSELLER * Get ready for the ultimate Jack Reacher experience: a thrilling new novella and eleven previously published stories, together for the first time in one pulse-pounding collection from Lee Child.u003c/bu003eu003cbru003e u003cbru003e u003ciu003eNo Middle Nameu003c/iu003e begins with "Too Much Time," a brand-new work of ...

    3,00 €

  • THE DUCHESS DEAL
    2ª mano
    THE DUCHESS DEAL
    TESSA DARE
    u003cpu003eAn iBooks Best Romance of August Pick!u003c/pu003eu003cpu003eOne of Publishers Weekly's Buzz Books of Romance 2017!u003c/pu003eu003cpu003eAn Amazon Best Romance of August Pick! u003c/pu003eu003cpu003e2017 RT Reviewer's Choice Book of the Year Nominee and 2017 RT Reviewer's Choice Nominee for Best Historical Love & Laughter! u003c/pu003eu003cpu003e u003c/pu003eu003cp...

    3,00 €

  • THE ESSENTIAL HANDBOOK TO LECTIN
    2ª mano
    THE ESSENTIAL HANDBOOK TO LECTIN
    EVELYN CARMICHAEL
    Is Gluten-Free the answer? Find out how Lectins impact inflammation, autoimmune and digestive issues, and cause you to gain weight. u003cbru003e Many people eat a gluten-free diet, but they may not be aware that the real culprit that's responsible for their ill health is in fact a protein known as 'Lectin'. This little-known intolerance can cause a wide range of nasty symptoms,...

    3,00 €

  • DIFFERENT CLASS
    2ª mano
    DIFFERENT CLASS
    JOANNE HARRIS
    u003cbu003eu003ciu003eThe gripping new psychological thriller from Joanne Harris, to follow her bestsellingu003c/iu003e Gentlemen & Players u003ciu003eandu003c/iu003e Blueeyedboy.u003ciu003ePerfect for fans of Claire Mackintosh, BA Paris, Paula Hawkinsu003c/iu003e and u003ciu003eTracy Chevalier.u003c/iu003eu003c/bu003eu003cbru003e u003cbru003e 'Crime novel or literary novel? Ca...

    3,00 €

  • FORTY THIEVES
    2ª mano
    FORTY THIEVES
    THOMAS PERRY
    Fromu003ciu003eNew York Timesu003c/iu003e bestselling author Thomas Perry comes a whip-smart and lethally paced standalone novel,u003ciu003eForty Thievesu003c/iu003e.u003cbru003e u003cbru003e Sid and Ronnie Abel are a husband-and-wife detective team, both ex-LAPD. Ed and Nicole Hoyt are assassins-for-hire living in the San Fernando Valley. Except for deadly aim with a handgun, ...

    3,00 €

Otros libros del autor

  • DUBLIN
    2ª mano
    DUBLIN
    EDWARD RUTHERFURD
    The history of Dublin is that of the whole island of Ireland. Best-selling author Edward Rutherfurd has lived in Dublin for the past decade; with the help of some of Ireland's leading historians, he has researched this epic and groundbreaking novel of the city. Rutherfurd managed to encapsulate the drama of Salisbury, Moscow, London and the New Forest in one volume in his previ...

    3,00 €