POCKET BOOK OF PATRIOTS

POCKET BOOK OF PATRIOTS

100 BRITISH HERO

GEORGE COURTAULD

3,00 €
IVA incluido

Tienda recomendada por Google

Editorial:
VINTAGE BOOKS
Año de edición:
2005
Materia
Inglés - oferta
ISBN:
978-0-09-190901-7
Páginas:
280
3,00 €
IVA incluido

Tienda recomendada por Google

The Pocket Book of Patriotism proved that George Courtauld had a real gift for making history simple. The book became a word-of-mouth bestseller which dominated bookseller lists for many weeks. Now in this book he brings his talents to bear on great British figures. From King Arthur and The Venerable Bede, Isambard Kingdom Brunel and Oliver Cromwell, to St Patrick and William Wilberforce, here are 100 patriots of which, in the author's view, we should be unashamedly proud. Presenting these beacon figures in the form of CVs, the author (himself a headhunter) casts their careers in a new light, highlighting key historical events, milestones in their careers, all reinforced by quotes from the figures themselves, capped by their personal hobbies and interests. Alongside the familiar names like William Caxton, Nelson and Elizabeth I, come those which are perhaps less familiar but no less important - Edward Longshanks, the Hammer of the Scots, and Warwick the Kingmaker; Pelagius and Dr Harvey. The result is a fascinating slice of history which brings key British figures to life in a simple and most accessible way. Anyone who enjoyed The Pocket Book of Patriotism will savour this book.

Artículos relacionados

  • FROST FAIR
    2ª mano
    FROST FAIR
    CAROL ANN DUFFY
    u003cbu003eThe tenth and final Christmas book, set in the frost fairs on London's Thames in the 16th-century, from UK Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy. u003c/bu003eBeautifully illustrated and produced in a gorgeous small format, this is an irresistible festive gift and Christmas stocking must-have for poetry lovers. ...

    3,00 €

  • DEAR MRS. BIRD
    2ª mano
    DEAR MRS. BIRD
    AJ PEARCE
    u003cbu003eThis charming, irresistible debut novel set in London during World War II about a young woman who longs to be a war correspondent and inadvertantly becomes a secret advice columnist is “a jaunty, heartbreaking winner” (u003ciu003ePeopleu003c/iu003e)—for fans of u003ciu003eThe Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Societyu003c/iu003e and u003ciu003eLilac Girlsu0...

    3,00 €

  • NATURAL WINE FOR THE PEOPLE
    2ª mano
    NATURAL WINE FOR THE PEOPLE
    ALICE FEIRING
    u003cbu003eu003cbu003eA compact illustrated guide to the emerging and enormously popular category of natural wine, a style that focuses on minimal intervention, lack of additives, and organic and biodynamic growing methods.u003c/bu003eu003c/bu003e u003cpu003eToday, wine is more favored and consumed that it's ever been in the United States--and millennials are leading the charge...

    3,00 €

  • WINTER
    2ª mano
    WINTER
    ALI SMITH
    The Ali Smith season cycle rolls around to a dark and yet life-affirming Christmas instalment, featuring family disputes, memories and timely epiphanies. BOOKS OF THE YEAR: The Times, Guardian, Observer, Daily Telegraph, Evening Standard, New York Times . . .'Capacious, surprising, generous . . . A book with Christmas at its heart' Guardian 'Dazzling. Grief and pain are transfi...

    3,00 €

  • A SIMPLE FAVOR
    2ª mano
    A SIMPLE FAVOR
    DARCEY BELL
    u003cpu003eA single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train—now a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively, and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feigu003c/pu003eu003cpu003e“Debut-novelist Darcey Bell ramps up suspense with authority...

    3,00 €

  • I'LL KEEP YOU SAFE
    2ª mano
    I'LL KEEP YOU SAFE
    PETER MAY
    u003cbu003e"RICHLY WRITTEN." --u003ciu003eKIRKUS REVIEWSu003c/iu003eu003c/bu003e u003cbu003eu003ciu003eu003cbru003eu003c/iu003eu003c/bu003e u003cbu003e"VIBRANT DETAILS." --u003ciu003ePUBLISHERS WEEKLYu003c/iu003eu003c/bu003e u003cbu003eu003ciu003eu003cbru003eu003c/iu003eu003c/bu003e u003cbu003e"NO ONE CAN CREATE A MORE ELOQUENTLY WRITTEN SUSPENSE NOVEL THAN PETER MAY." --u003ci...

    3,00 €

Otros libros del autor

  • THE POCKET BOOK OF PATRIOTISM
    2ª mano
    THE POCKET BOOK OF PATRIOTISM
    GEORGE COURTAULD
    The Pocket Book of Patriotism proved that George Courtauld had a real gift for making history simple. The book became a word-of-mouth bestseller which dominated bookseller lists for many weeks. Now in this book he brings his talents to bear on great British figures. From King Arthur and The Venerable Bede, Isambard Kingdom Brunel and Oliver Cromwell, to St Patrick and William W...

    3,00 €