MODERN BRITISH HISTORY

MODERN BRITISH HISTORY

THE ESSENTIAL A-Z GUIDE

MARK GARNETT / RICHARD WEIGHT

3,00 €
IVA incluido
Editorial:
GENERICA
Año de edición:
2004
Materia
Inglés
ISBN:
978-1-84413-104-4
Páginas:
518

The A- Z GUIDE TO MODERN BRISTISH HISTORY is a comprehensive, entertaining survey of the events, people and themes that make us who we are, written by two of the country's leading scholars of the subject. In 200 concise essays, covering topics as diverse as pornography and the poll tax, the Blitz and New Labour, the authors explore the interwoven culture, society, politics and economics of the recent past. The object of the Guide is not only to lay bare the facts of today's Britain, but also to provoke debate. Bombarded by information as never before, we all need to appreciate the extent to which seemingly disparate events connect with other, and echo previous developments which we are in danger of forgetting. The entries offer a consistent line of argument with a refreshing disrespect for old orthodoxies; at the same time, readers are given the essential facts on which to base their own opinions. The A- Z GUIDE TO MODERN BRISTISH HISTORY will be invaluable to students and general readers alike. Read separately, its entries are a mine of useful information; taken together, they build a vivid, compelling and controversial picture of Britain at the start of the twenty- first century.

Artículos relacionados

  • BORROWED TIME
    2ª mano
    BORROWED TIME
    JAMES FREEMAN / VERN MCKINLEY
    u003cpu003eThe alarming, untold story of Citigroup—one of the largest financial institutions in the world—from its founding in 1812 to its role in the 2008 financial crisis, and the many near-death experiences in between.u003c/pu003eu003cpu003eDuring the 2008 financial crisis, we were told that Citi was a victim of events beyond its control—the larger financial panic, unf...

    3,00 €

  • PROMISING YOUNG WOMEN
    2ª mano
    PROMISING YOUNG WOMEN
    CAROLINE O'DONOGHUE
    u003cpu003eu003cbu003e'I loved it. The writing is whipsmart and so witty. A fabulous and timely novel.' Marian Keyesu003c/bu003eu003c/pu003e u003cpu003eu003cbu003e'So brilliant ... Compelling and illuminating ... I highly recommend it.' Dolly Aldertonu003c/bu003eu003c/pu003e u003cpu003eu003cbu003e'A future classic.' Jane Caseyu003c/bu003eu003c/pu003e u003cpu003eJane Peters is a...

    3,00 €

  • THE DUCHESS DEAL
    2ª mano
    THE DUCHESS DEAL
    TESSA DARE
    u003cpu003eAn iBooks Best Romance of August Pick!u003c/pu003eu003cpu003eOne of Publishers Weekly's Buzz Books of Romance 2017!u003c/pu003eu003cpu003eAn Amazon Best Romance of August Pick! u003c/pu003eu003cpu003e2017 RT Reviewer's Choice Book of the Year Nominee and 2017 RT Reviewer's Choice Nominee for Best Historical Love & Laughter! u003c/pu003eu003cpu003e u003c/pu003eu003cp...

    3,00 €

  • THE ESSENTIAL HANDBOOK TO LECTIN
    2ª mano
    THE ESSENTIAL HANDBOOK TO LECTIN
    EVELYN CARMICHAEL
    Is Gluten-Free the answer? Find out how Lectins impact inflammation, autoimmune and digestive issues, and cause you to gain weight. u003cbru003e Many people eat a gluten-free diet, but they may not be aware that the real culprit that's responsible for their ill health is in fact a protein known as 'Lectin'. This little-known intolerance can cause a wide range of nasty symptoms,...

    3,00 €

  • DIFFERENT CLASS
    2ª mano
    DIFFERENT CLASS
    JOANNE HARRIS
    u003cbu003eu003ciu003eThe gripping new psychological thriller from Joanne Harris, to follow her bestsellingu003c/iu003e Gentlemen & Players u003ciu003eandu003c/iu003e Blueeyedboy.u003ciu003ePerfect for fans of Claire Mackintosh, BA Paris, Paula Hawkinsu003c/iu003e and u003ciu003eTracy Chevalier.u003c/iu003eu003c/bu003eu003cbru003e u003cbru003e 'Crime novel or literary novel? Ca...

    3,00 €

  • FORTY THIEVES
    2ª mano
    FORTY THIEVES
    THOMAS PERRY
    Fromu003ciu003eNew York Timesu003c/iu003e bestselling author Thomas Perry comes a whip-smart and lethally paced standalone novel,u003ciu003eForty Thievesu003c/iu003e.u003cbru003e u003cbru003e Sid and Ronnie Abel are a husband-and-wife detective team, both ex-LAPD. Ed and Nicole Hoyt are assassins-for-hire living in the San Fernando Valley. Except for deadly aim with a handgun, ...

    3,00 €