CHRONICLES OF THE CANONGATE

CHRONICLES OF THE CANONGATE

SIR WALTER SCOTT

3,00 €
IVA incluido
Editorial:
GENERICA
Año de edición:
2003
Materia
Inglés
ISBN:
978-0-14-043989-2
Páginas:
427

Ranging from the wilds of the Scottish Highlands to the dusty streets of Madras, these three stories all show lives transformed - and, in some cases, destroyed - by words and cultures in conflict. In 'The Highland widow', a mother is devastated when her son announces his intention to join the British army to fight in America, and uses all her cunning to keep him at home. 'The two drovers' is a tale of prophecy fulfilled in which the Englishman Harry Wakefield is set against his Scottish friend Robin Oig in a destructive and ultimately tragic quarrel. 'The surgeon's daughter' follows the fortunes of three young Scots who attempt to settle in India during the early years of British Empire. Based on the authoritative Edinburgh Edition of the Waverley Novels, which follows the text of the Scott collection in its original form, this volume features a new introduction by Clare Lamont. It also includes a chronology of Scott's life and works, textual and historical notes and a glossary.

Artículos relacionados

  • BORROWED TIME
    2ª mano
    BORROWED TIME
    JAMES FREEMAN / VERN MCKINLEY
    u003cpu003eThe alarming, untold story of Citigroup—one of the largest financial institutions in the world—from its founding in 1812 to its role in the 2008 financial crisis, and the many near-death experiences in between.u003c/pu003eu003cpu003eDuring the 2008 financial crisis, we were told that Citi was a victim of events beyond its control—the larger financial panic, unf...

    3,00 €

  • NO MIDDLE NAME
    2ª mano
    NO MIDDLE NAME
    LEE CHILD
    u003cbu003eu003ciu003eNEW YORK TIMESu003c/iu003e BESTSELLER * Get ready for the ultimate Jack Reacher experience: a thrilling new novella and eleven previously published stories, together for the first time in one pulse-pounding collection from Lee Child.u003c/bu003eu003cbru003e u003cbru003e u003ciu003eNo Middle Nameu003c/iu003e begins with "Too Much Time," a brand-new work of ...

    3,00 €

  • THE DUCHESS DEAL
    2ª mano
    THE DUCHESS DEAL
    TESSA DARE
    u003cpu003eAn iBooks Best Romance of August Pick!u003c/pu003eu003cpu003eOne of Publishers Weekly's Buzz Books of Romance 2017!u003c/pu003eu003cpu003eAn Amazon Best Romance of August Pick! u003c/pu003eu003cpu003e2017 RT Reviewer's Choice Book of the Year Nominee and 2017 RT Reviewer's Choice Nominee for Best Historical Love & Laughter! u003c/pu003eu003cpu003e u003c/pu003eu003cp...

    3,00 €

  • THE ESSENTIAL HANDBOOK TO LECTIN
    2ª mano
    THE ESSENTIAL HANDBOOK TO LECTIN
    EVELYN CARMICHAEL
    Is Gluten-Free the answer? Find out how Lectins impact inflammation, autoimmune and digestive issues, and cause you to gain weight. u003cbru003e Many people eat a gluten-free diet, but they may not be aware that the real culprit that's responsible for their ill health is in fact a protein known as 'Lectin'. This little-known intolerance can cause a wide range of nasty symptoms,...

    3,00 €

  • DIFFERENT CLASS
    2ª mano
    DIFFERENT CLASS
    JOANNE HARRIS
    u003cbu003eu003ciu003eThe gripping new psychological thriller from Joanne Harris, to follow her bestsellingu003c/iu003e Gentlemen & Players u003ciu003eandu003c/iu003e Blueeyedboy.u003ciu003ePerfect for fans of Claire Mackintosh, BA Paris, Paula Hawkinsu003c/iu003e and u003ciu003eTracy Chevalier.u003c/iu003eu003c/bu003eu003cbru003e u003cbru003e 'Crime novel or literary novel? Ca...

    3,00 €

  • FORTY THIEVES
    2ª mano
    FORTY THIEVES
    THOMAS PERRY
    Fromu003ciu003eNew York Timesu003c/iu003e bestselling author Thomas Perry comes a whip-smart and lethally paced standalone novel,u003ciu003eForty Thievesu003c/iu003e.u003cbru003e u003cbru003e Sid and Ronnie Abel are a husband-and-wife detective team, both ex-LAPD. Ed and Nicole Hoyt are assassins-for-hire living in the San Fernando Valley. Except for deadly aim with a handgun, ...

    3,00 €