AGINCOURT

AGINCOURT

THE KING, THE CAMPAIGN, THE BATTLE

JULIET R. V. BARKER

3,00 €
IVA incluido

Tienda recomendada por Google

Editorial:
H. LEONARD CORPORATION
Año de edición:
2005
Materia
Inglés - oferta
ISBN:
978-0-316-72648-1
Páginas:
460
3,00 €
IVA incluido

Tienda recomendada por Google

When Henry V and his 'band of brothers' defeated the assembled might of French chivalry on a rainy October day in 1415 it was a defining moment in English history. Against all the odds, 9,000 exhausted English men claimed victory from an army of 20,000 and for six centuries the battle of Agincourt has informed the nation's self-image and been celebrated as a triumph of the underdog. But what is the truth behind the battle upon which so many legends have been built? In this landmark study of Agincourt, prize-winning author Juliet Barker draws upon a huge range of sources to give a compelling account of the battle. But she also looks behind the action on the field to paint a portrait of the age, moving from the ambition of kings to the dynamics of daily life in peace and war. A mad king, murderous dukes, scheming bishops, knightly heroes, surgeons, heralds, spies and pirates; the story of Agincourt has them all.

Artículos relacionados

  • FROST FAIR
    2ª mano
    FROST FAIR
    CAROL ANN DUFFY
    u003cbu003eThe tenth and final Christmas book, set in the frost fairs on London's Thames in the 16th-century, from UK Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy. u003c/bu003eBeautifully illustrated and produced in a gorgeous small format, this is an irresistible festive gift and Christmas stocking must-have for poetry lovers. ...

    3,00 €

  • DEAR MRS. BIRD
    2ª mano
    DEAR MRS. BIRD
    AJ PEARCE
    u003cbu003eThis charming, irresistible debut novel set in London during World War II about a young woman who longs to be a war correspondent and inadvertantly becomes a secret advice columnist is “a jaunty, heartbreaking winner” (u003ciu003ePeopleu003c/iu003e)—for fans of u003ciu003eThe Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Societyu003c/iu003e and u003ciu003eLilac Girlsu0...

    3,00 €

  • NATURAL WINE FOR THE PEOPLE
    2ª mano
    NATURAL WINE FOR THE PEOPLE
    ALICE FEIRING
    u003cbu003eu003cbu003eA compact illustrated guide to the emerging and enormously popular category of natural wine, a style that focuses on minimal intervention, lack of additives, and organic and biodynamic growing methods.u003c/bu003eu003c/bu003e u003cpu003eToday, wine is more favored and consumed that it's ever been in the United States--and millennials are leading the charge...

    3,00 €

  • WINTER
    2ª mano
    WINTER
    ALI SMITH
    The Ali Smith season cycle rolls around to a dark and yet life-affirming Christmas instalment, featuring family disputes, memories and timely epiphanies. BOOKS OF THE YEAR: The Times, Guardian, Observer, Daily Telegraph, Evening Standard, New York Times . . .'Capacious, surprising, generous . . . A book with Christmas at its heart' Guardian 'Dazzling. Grief and pain are transfi...

    3,00 €

  • A SIMPLE FAVOR
    2ª mano
    A SIMPLE FAVOR
    DARCEY BELL
    u003cpu003eA single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train—now a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively, and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feigu003c/pu003eu003cpu003e“Debut-novelist Darcey Bell ramps up suspense with authority...

    3,00 €

  • I'LL KEEP YOU SAFE
    2ª mano
    I'LL KEEP YOU SAFE
    PETER MAY
    u003cbu003e"RICHLY WRITTEN." --u003ciu003eKIRKUS REVIEWSu003c/iu003eu003c/bu003e u003cbu003eu003ciu003eu003cbru003eu003c/iu003eu003c/bu003e u003cbu003e"VIBRANT DETAILS." --u003ciu003ePUBLISHERS WEEKLYu003c/iu003eu003c/bu003e u003cbu003eu003ciu003eu003cbru003eu003c/iu003eu003c/bu003e u003cbu003e"NO ONE CAN CREATE A MORE ELOQUENTLY WRITTEN SUSPENSE NOVEL THAN PETER MAY." --u003ci...

    3,00 €